Say what? No…seriously, what did you say?

I’ve never been a fan of public speaking/presentations, even if I’m only presenting to a small group of people. I generally don’t get nervous in the usual sense, it’s just that I have no concept of spontaneity. You see, a presentation is supposed to use a slideshow (be it computer based or OHP) as a basis for talking points only. If you’ve ever sat through a presentation where the speaker just reads off the slides then you’ll know why this is. Here is where I have a problem, I just don’t have the ability to talk about something without either learning a ‘script’ off by heart or reading from other notes. So, to today’s story.

This morning I was part of an assessed ‘workshop’ (nothing good has ever come of that word), in which I had to find a group (of people I don’t know, which always makes working as a team harder) of people to work with, research a topic and draw up a presentation all within the space of two hours. To make it worse we had to use OHP transparencies instead of Powerpoint. Because we only had two hours, I only managed to write a page or two of notes for the presentation – needless to say I froze in the middle of it. I was trying to read from my notes and from the ‘slides’ at the same time and just totally confused myself. If the lecturer assessing us had an knowledge of what I was actually trying to say, I’d be very surprised. Like I said, it was an assessed piece of work, but luckily only counting 20% towards the final module mark, so hopefully I’ll do better in the exam come January.

About abooth202
My name is Andrew. Hi.

One Response to Say what? No…seriously, what did you say?

  1. Jon says:

    That’s bad luck.

    Hope you do better in the exam. It’s never easy to do something, that by it’s very nature requires a serious amount of prep, on the fly.

    Then again was that maybe part of the test?

    Who knows…

Leave a comment